Poetry Friday–Haiku & House sparrow

1a-house-sparrow-in-february-with-haiku-m-kogan-2-9-2017-copy

 

house sparrow calling
by my rooftop, cheep cheeping,
spying down on me.

©2017 Michelle Kogan

Sharing this dashing house sparrow, who I heard singing sweetly in the beginning of the week. When I have time in the morning, I usually check my windows to see if there are any sparrows fluttering around. I couldn’t see or hear any, and took off to work on something in my studio, and that’s when I heard this fellow calling to me. I had to go up  a ladder, and peer out at him through a small window to capture his image.  I made a quick sketch,  (before he darted off) and completed the watercolor and ink as the week progressed. I wrote the haiku right after I sketched him. I’m happy to hear any birds songs in the month of February, and thankful for their nature distraction!

For more Poetry Friday Poems visit Katie’s site The Logonauts

 

 

 

 

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Nature, Painting, pen sketch, Pencil Drawing, Poem, Quick Sketches, Sketchbooks, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Poetry Friday–Haiku & House sparrow

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    There are lush trees right outside my bedroom windows and quite often birds’ chirping wake me. Truly a pleasant alarm clock.

  2. Irene Latham says:

    Beautiful! We’ve heard lots of cheeping here in Alabama this past week, with temps in the upper 60s. Spring will soon be here, and the birds are getting ready!

  3. Leigh Anne says:

    A beautiful illustration coupled with beautiful words.

  4. Lovely image and haiku. Now that things are warming up, I’m beginning to hear a few more birdsongs. My favorite this time of year is the call of the sandhill cranes as they fly through.

  5. Handsome bird and lovely poem.

  6. Alice Nine says:

    Very lovely, Michelle, a wonderful pairing you’ve created. Bird songs in the morning make my entire day go better, especially in the winter month.

  7. I woke up this morning to finally hear the chirping of birds again, after an unusually long and bitter winter. It’s so wonderful to have them back again, I’ve missed them so very much!

  8. lindabaie says:

    Beauty in the morning is a fine thing to discover, Michelle. Love your watercolor & haiku. I hear chickadees in the am, then I suppose they’re off to other places.

  9. We have a couple of house sparrows that like to nest in our front door wreath. I’m always in two minds about it since it’s fun to watch them raise a family but it’s not so easy to avoid using that door for weeks on end! They do make me happy, though. 🙂

  10. I love this, Michelle! What talent you have! This week I shared a poem about one of my favorites, the chickadee. I can just imagine how charming a chickadee you could create through watercolor and ink!

  11. I’ve been spying on the birds at our feeder this week, but they’re oblivious to me. Their songs do brighten the winter days!

  12. Tabatha says:

    How fun to capture your wee neighbor in watercolor, ink, and words! Nicely done. I wonder what the birds think about us while they watch us go about our daily lives.

  13. maryleehahn says:

    My favorite morning singers are the wrens who sing jubilantly every morning!

  14. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, the illustration is beautiful and I do like the way you designed the poster. The poem is a great accompaniment.

Leave a Reply

