Poetry Friday & Women’s History Month

owl-in-birch-3-2-2017

Can You Find Which Way is Up?

Hey, yoo-hoo– Can you find which way is up?

Works here, there, everywhere and won’t letup.

Eh, I need an escape.

Hmmm . . . A trip to the cape,

a winter rendezvous­–me and you, yup!

© 2017 Michelle Kogan

As the month of March is Women’s History Month, I’m shining some light on a few outstanding women.  I’m beginning today, with the poet, Georgia Heard. While writing my poem Georgia Heard’s Poetry Anthology, Falling Down the Page: A Book of List Poems came to mind. It has always been a favorite of mine. The poems seem to tumble down the page effortlessly. Here is the beginning of her poem Oak Tree, that is included in the anthology. 

Oak Tree 
(Read from bottom to top)

Reaching
Up
Up
Up
Climbs
Acorn
Small
One

georgia-heard-anthology-3-1-2017

I found out from Heidi, who is hosting Poetry Friday this week, that poet Billy Collins is turning 76 on March 22nd. In honor of his birthday I found this poem  of his to share. I love the casual nature of this poem and how it meanders from beginning to end! 

Invention

Tonight the moon is a cracker,
with a bite out of it
floating in the night,

and in a week or so
according to the calendar
it will probably look

like a silver football,
and nine, maybe ten days ago
it reminded me of a thin bright claw.
But eventually —
by the end of the month,
I reckon —

Read the rest of this poem here: Poetry Soup- Billy Collins

Thanks Heidi for hosting the Poetry Roundup, and filling us in on Bill Collins’ Birthday! For more Poetry Friday Poems visit Heidi at:  My Juicy Little Universe

About Michelle Kogan Illustration, Painting & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an illustrator, instructor, painter and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park.
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Nature, Painting, Poem, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Poetry Friday & Women’s History Month

  1. Oh how I love that owl! I’ve always loved owls, and that tilted head is just delightful!!

  2. You are talented in so many ways.
    I love your watercolor owl – that angle of the head, Michelle, I feel it’s peering into my soul.

    We share an affection for Georgia Heard’s FALLING DOWN THE PAGE. I hope to
    study with her some day.

    The meditation on the moon by Billy Collins is perfect for me now as my hubby & I were
    trying to describe its shape last night on our evening walk. I expect to share this with him tonight.

  3. margaretsmn says:

    That is the cutest owl I’ve ever seen! Love the casual ease of your poem, yup! Georgia Heard is a wonderful collector of poems. Do you have The Woman in this Poem? Amazing collection that I highly recommend. https://www.amazon.com/Woman-this-Poem-Womens-Voices/dp/B0147HVIBG

  4. lindabaie says:

    I love your owl, too, Michelle. And I have Falling Down The Page, among others by Georgia. I had the pleasure of working with her last fall at Highlights. What a marvelous week it was. I love Billy’s poem and that ending, too. I wonder how many of his poems hold some reference to writing and/or words? Happy weekend!

  5. Tabatha says:

    Enjoyed this whole post, Michelle — top to bottom, with a little upside-down in the middle!

  6. What a great idea to showcase women poets this month, Michelle. Georgia Heard is wonderful! Such a treat, also, to read “Invention”—where has that poem been all my life? (Thank you for finally introducing us.) Lastly, I want to hug your owl!!!! Ever consider designing a stuffed toy? 🙂

  7. maryleehahn says:

    I love your perky owl with the cocked head and shining eyes! And I love your Billy Collins pick — wonder if your owl was looking at the same moon?

  8. Michelle, Thank you for highlighting Georgia Heard. I need to learn more about her and her work. I am in love with the heart map idea…..but I have not created one myself. I feel completely overwhelmed when I sit and try to create one….which is silly! But, sometimes silly needs to be overcome. And, I aim to someday. Love your owl and the energy of the rhyme. This week I may try a Falling Down the Page poem. It is fun to read. Have a great week!

  9. I adore Georgia, and have always loved her “Oak Tree” poem.
    What a great expression your owl is greeting us with! Thanks for sharing it & your fun poem.
    I went to a literary event today led by a wildlife ecologist professor/writer & poet who started us off with a lovely birding walk. You would have loved it. I’ll share more next week. :0)

  10. Your owl is so curious, Michelle–exploring women’s history, list poems, and Billy Collins! I had hoped this celebration would lead me to new poems of his, and you have obliged nicely with a poem I can share with my 2nd graders about viewing the moon. I wonder what they’ll say about the jittery ending?

  11. Lovely owl painting, Michelle. I imagine the owl nibbles at the Cracker Moon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

