Poetry Friday–New Year, New Light, New Activism…

Baby_And_Stork_New_Year_-m kogan1-2-2019

Stork and Baby, © 2020 Michelle Kogan, pencil sketch.

Happy Poetry Friday!

Welcome to 2020… I’ve been thinking about light, change, children, and students, perhaps together they’ll move us in a positive global direction…

I have two poems and a bit of music to accompany my pondering thoughts… A golden shovel taken from a line of David Bowie’s song Changes–and a quick free verse poem, directly inspired by the bright morning light.

WHO’S LEADING CLIMATE CHANGE…

Climate activist students are calling us all, they’re
determined to save our earth, and they’re quite
ready for action! They’re aware
that co2’s need reducing now. They’re aware of  
our nation’s need to work together, and what 
this united city-wide change can produce. They’re
raising their voices and calling us all. They’re going
to lead, and together we must carry climate change through!

© 2019 Michelle Kogan

Here’s a link to all the words to Changes by David Bowie

Here’s a link to an interesting article that asks, Is it too late to prevent climate change?

NEW YEARS LIGHT

Spilling light spreads over our New Year
like a baby’s first cry begging to be heard…
I’m here–embrace me, nurture me,
watch me grow, explore, fall, flounder,
and pick myself up, to begin all over again…

© 2019 Michelle Kogan

 

Mosey on over to Carol’s Corner for this weeks Poetry Friday Roundup. Carol’s sharing an eloquent poem looking inside and beyond ourselves by a favorite poet of mine Maya Angelou. Thanks for hosting Carol!

Visit Renée LaTulippe’s site No Water River to find out more about what Poetry Friday is.

 

Screen-Shot-2018-12-27-at-6.19.40-PM

 

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Holidays, Nature, Pencil Drawing, Poem, Sketchbooks, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Poetry Friday–New Year, New Light, New Activism…

  1. lindabaie says:

    Axios today writes about the increased congestion in cities, with the boom of Uber, etc. We do need to have a “united city-wide change”. Long ago it would have been so helpful to invest in more public transportation. You’re written it right, Michelle. Your picture is lovely, the poems are such a poignant call to act. Here’s to a new year of change!

  2. Linda Mitchell says:

    ooooh, do I love that spilling light. Such a pretty, pretty image. And, the stork is great! I think this younger generation is owed our gratitude for the work they are doing for the earth.

  3. margaretsmn says:

    I hope to catch some spilling light. Your posts always are inspiring!

  4. laurashovan222 says:

    I love this song. Great line to choose for your Golden Shovel, Michelle. I think your call to “grow, explore, fall, flounder” is much more powerful than a new year’s resolution.

  5. maryleehahn says:

    I’m with Laura S. That “grow, explore, fall, flounder” sounds just about like the way I roll!!

  6. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, I love the salute to new year, new birth, and activism. The peace sign next to the baby makes me think that my granddaughter and her little sister who is about to come into the world might be full of the spirit of saving this earth of ours. Embrace me, nurture me, watch me grow-beautiful words for a new year and a new baby coming into it. Happy New Year.

Leave a comment