Poetry Friday-Mother’s Day-Mothers & Daughters

1a-Cottontail-Mama-and-baby-from-Milkweed-and-Sunflower-squarer-5-11-2017

For Poetry Friday I’m sharing Poems about Mothers and Daughters for Mother’s Day.

MOTHERS AND DAUGHTERS

Mothers and daughters what ties them together?
Building bonds as sensitive as a feather.

Laughing and crying–sharing joy and sorrow,
years passing too quickly into tomorrow.

Daughters becoming mothers to their mothers,
balancing, listening, inside another.

Mothers always mothers to their daughters,
riding waves over a lifetime of waters.

Mothers and daughters, and daughters and mothers,
a bond worthy to build between each other . . .

©2017 Michelle Kogan

This next poem is by Eavan Boland, from her book A WOMAN WITHOUT A COUNTRY. I’m sorry to say that I couldn’t find it anywhere on line, (it’s a book from my personal library) so if you want to read it in entirety, stop by your library or purchase the book. Here is a bio-link to read more about Eavan Boland at the Poetry Foundation.

TALKING TO MY DAUGHTER LATE AT NIGHT

We have a tray, a pot of tea, a scone.

This is the hour

When one thing pours itself into another:

The gable of our house stored in shadow,

A spring planet bending ice

Into an absolute of light.

 

Your childhood ended years ago. There is 

No path back to it, there is 

No certainty I can find

The if or maybe that might remedy

An afternoon you walked up the hill

After school. In winter, in tears.

The fire smolders down into cinders.

Lilac shivers in the March dark.

If love is a civilization,

As I once hoped it was,

And you and I are its living citizens

And if our words

Are less than rules and more than remedies

As we speak, maybe

Someone escapes from a wounded morning

In a small classroom and finds

The world is not stern, after all. Paper birds

Are folded and fly off in the playground.

The Poetry Friday Roundup is hosted this week by Tara Reid at A Teaching Life, stop by for more poems.

 

 

 

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Holidays, Nature, Plein Air Art, Poem, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Poetry Friday-Mother’s Day-Mothers & Daughters

  1. Trini Lind says:

    Oh, how delightful!!! 💖🐇💖🐇💖🐇

  2. My daughter is only 8, so our mother-daughter life is more about hair braiding, breakfast sharing, spelling quizzing and hugs before bed.

  3. lindabaie says:

    The relationship is special, and often unique to each, isn’t it? Thanks for sharing your perspective, Michelle along with Eavan’s.

  4. Both of these poems are lovely tributes to the bonds between mothers and daughters. I’m blessed to have both strong mothers (including in-laws and grandmothers) and a strong daughter!

  5. My childhood ended long ago, but I still run to my mother (or telephone her, since we live farther away now) with happy news and sad stories, and pour my heart out to her, just as I always have. Mothers (and other loving female relatives) are truly some of our greatest treasures!

  6. jama says:

    Enjoyed the poems and thinking about the special mother-daughter bond that defines us. This will be the fourth Mother’s Day since my mom passed away, and it’s become such a poignant holiday — missing her, yet celebrating who she was and everything she meant to us. Love the bunny painting too!

  7. Kortney Garrison says:

    This is the hour when one thing pours into another…so good!

  8. Both poems say so much about the mother-daughter relationship in so many ways. Thanks for sharing, Michelle!

  9. I really like your mother-daughter poem, Michelle. I especially love these lines:
    “Daughters becoming mothers to their mothers,
    balancing, listening, inside another.”
    I have experienced that. It’s a lifelong bond like no other.

  10. macrush53 says:

    The first stanza reminds me of my Mom. Thank you for sharing.

  11. cvarsalona says:

    Your poem is lovely, Michelle. I want to send it to my daughter who is about to have her daughter. I love the following lines.
    Daughters becoming mothers to their mothers,
    balancing, listening, inside another.
    Would you like to send me the illustration you created for the spring gallery as a stand alone piece of art?

  12. maryleehahn says:

    Oh, that third stanza in your poem. So much truth…

  13. Thanks for this celebration of mothers and daughters, Michelle. There’s something so special about the mother-daughter bond, how it grows and changes over time—strength and fluidity at the same time. I feel so blessed that the bond I share with Miranda is as strong as the one I share with my own mother.

  14. Tabatha says:

    The years do pass so quickly, don’t they? I get a little panicky when I think about anything happening to my mother.
    I thought “If love is a civilization,/As I once hoped it was,/And you and I are its living citizens” was a beautiful thought.

  15. Laura Shovan says:

    The woven nature of your poem is so true of parent/child relationships Michelle.

    This line jumps out at me: This is the hour/ When one thing pours itself into another:

  16. Mothers and daughters – the bond is unique. Being a mom to two daughters, I take my responsibility to them very seriously. Beautiful poems and painting for Mother’s Day, Michelle. =)

Leave a comment