Poetry Friday–Flower Bids So Long…

1-End-Season-flowers-floped-9-27-2018

WIP End Season Flowers, © 2018 Michelle Kogan, watercolor and watercolor pencil.

Happy Poetry Friday. I’m sharing some poems and art about Season’s End, changes, and another amazing Moon flower.

FLOWER BIDS SO LONG…

I’ve taken a turn
decisively east–
Petals all spent, but
spines happy at least.

Pods pleasantly plump,
leaves stretch every way,
carry me with on
this dark dismal day.

I’ll offer a lift
come follow along–
Keep me close in heart
as I bid so long…

© 2018 Michelle Kogan

 

moon kissed magic
emerges at dusk
as fall unfolds

© 2018 Michelle Kogan

 

Stop by Jone MacCulloch’s Blog Deo Writer for this week’s Poetry Friday Roundup and  perhaps some of Jone’s amazing photo images. Thanks for hosting Jone!

 

 

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Nature, Plein Air Art, Poem, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Poetry Friday–Flower Bids So Long…

  1. Sally Murphy says:

    Thanks for your post, Michelle. Your moon flower is beautiful – and I love that you have filmed it so we can see how it moves with that stiff breeze. Definitely ‘moon kissed magic’.

  2. ahhh… flowers shutting down and fall unfolding… nature is always saying goodbye and hello at the same time! (I think I’ll put that in a poem!) Thank you, Michelle! xo

  3. lindabaie says:

    It’s cold here today, and you’ve written it right, Michelle, “as I bid so long”. I love the video of your moonflower & hearing the wind. Is that thunder, too? The inside of the bloom is so pretty.

  4. margaretsmn says:

    Ah, the lovely, elusive moon flower. I just had someone suggest that I plant them along my fence.

  5. Somehow paying tribute to the season’s end helps ease the transition, I think. A beautiful assemblage, Michelle.

  6. Oh, what a pretty moon flower. I will so miss this season. I always do just feel the loss of the warmth and the talking leaves. I really will keep that moon flower in my heart during the cold.Thank you for the gift of it.

  7. Pingback: How to polish stainless steel-a household hint poem - Soul Blossom Living

  8. Tabatha says:

    The flowers of summer may bid us so long, but you immortalize them in poetry, art, and now video! (Do you draw from photos in the winter or go visit botanical gardens or ? )

  9. maryleehahn says:

    You captured the turn of the season in your two poems. The moon flower seems to be waving goodbye to us and to summer!

  10. Diane Mayr says:

    “Petals all spent” is a sad image, however, in trying to look at the brighter side this week, if the petals were spent in providing us with eye candy or a pleasing scent, then it was worth their sacrifice.

  11. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, ah the season is ending here too. The rain dampens the ground as the temperature falls. Going from 90 degrees in Florida to 62-70 in Long Island is my cue to say good by but I still want to linger in summer. Thanks for the drawing, the last poem and the video. I am wondering if you would like to combine those with a thought about transitioning to Fall for my Abundant Autumn Gallery? It would be a wonderful intro.

  12. Very touching poem & haiku, Michelle – sad to see the season end, but autumn has a beauty of its own!

  13. jama says:

    What a lovely way to welcome Fall, Michelle. Thanks for all the goodness in this post!

  14. I’m not quite ready to say goodbye yet, winter is so very gloomy here, but nature certainly lets us know when it’s time to let go, doesn’t she?

  15. haitiruth says:

    It’s hard to say goodbye to a season, but it’s nice that there’s another beautiful one coming. I like your poems! Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

  16. Susan Bruck says:

    What a poignant poem to say goodbye to summer and flowers–even though they’re not all gone yet! Thanks for sharing your lovely poems and paintings!

  17. Love the pairing of these–petals spent, fall unfolding. Enjoy the change!

  18. Kay Mcgriff says:

    Sigh….what a lovely farewell to summer. I’m grateful for the cooler weather, though!

  19. mbhmaine says:

    A lovely post, Michelle. “Moon kissed magic”–perfect!

  20. Your poems paint beautiful pictures.

  21. macrush53 says:

    I love your sketches and paintings and the poems that come with them. Thank you for the shout out.

Leave a comment