Poetry Friday–Nature and December #natember

Raindrop baby leaves 21-1-2019

Happy Poetry Friday!

I’m writing nature haikus for December and am tagging them #natember. Linda Baie and Jean LaTourette are also writing them this month, join us. A few other haiku hashtags for December by Jone MacCulloch and Mary Lee Hahn are #haikuforhope #haikuforjustice haiku for kindness. 

   Here are my #natember haiku for this last week:

moss 12-5-2019

12-5-2019
moss shines her
regal welcome for winter,
earth plies for balance…

12-4-2019
blow feathery pine
like birds taking flight—
wayfind wisdom… 

 

Image

12-3-2019
yellow suzies dance
a few more dances… dally
on December

12-2-2019
silent crinkling
leaves sit, speaking through wind—
lessons to ponder…

lime green raindrop leaves
blanket baby trees as they
wait through winter…

© 2019 Michelle Kogan

Here’s some uplifting music to balance out the political imbalance…

 

Tanita S. Davis is hosting this weeks Poetry Friday Roundup, Thanks Tanita! Stop by her blog fiction, instead of lies  for more poetry goodness, and…a December poetry challenge.

Visit Renée LaTulippe’s site No Water River to find out more about what Poetry Friday is.

 

Screen-Shot-2018-12-27-at-6.19.40-PM.png

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Home, Nature, Nature photos, pen sketch, Plein Air Art, Poem, Sketchbooks, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Poetry Friday–Nature and December #natember

  1. Linda Mitchell says:

    Oh, I love feathery pine and leaves speaking in the wind. I will join in the writing. It’s hit or miss for me in December. I will dance off to write a haiku now. You inspire.

  2. tee+d says:

    Oh, your suzies are beautiful and a little sad, and what lovely moss (*has moss envy*)! Thanks for sharing your haiku — I think I’ll join in with some December lights haiku of my own in a bit!

  3. janicescully says:

    That was such a great music video. I shared it with my family. It is uplifting as are your nature haikus and lovely photos. Thank you.

  4. cweichel says:

    I love your yellow suzies dance. Those hardy little blooms that endure the ravages of the cold weather keep me going and remind me that spring will come.

  5. Joyce Ray says:

    Good for you writing a haiku a day! This is my favorite for its sound imagery, though our crinkling leaves are now buried under snow!

    silent crinkling
    leaves sit, speaking through wind—
    lessons to ponder…

    The music video was great! Loved the ribbon tree!

  6. lindabaie says:

    I missed some, Michelle, and they are all beautiful. I love the idea of those leaves that “blanket baby trees”. Thanks for the music, too. My day is ending, so a good way to say goodbye to the light.

  7. This line: lime green raindrop leaves. Yesterday, I had to write #natember. The geese overhead were fabulous.

  8. katswhiskers says:

    Taking a moment to pause and appreciate with haiku. Lovely. I especially liked your blanketed baby trees, although dallying dancing daisies has a certain charm, too. 🙂

  9. Kay Mcgriff says:

    Your haiku are a breath of fresh air through December. I’m enjoying the wealth of poetry hashtags this month.

  10. Very interesting moss photo and haiku… earth wobbles along like a marble on a bumpy path. Thanks for sharing these haiku and the sweet song.

  11. maryleehahn says:

    I’m enjoying all of your haiku! Thanks!

  12. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes says:

    They’re all beautiful, Michelle, but my faves are “blow feathery pine” and “silent crinkling.” I also love your photos and your musical selection. Happy #Natember!

Leave a comment