Poetry Friday-Summer Etheree’s

curlicuing contour lines-7-30-20

Follow the Contour Lines and You’ll find… © 2020, Michelle Kogan,  pencil sketch and Photoshop.

Happy Poetry Friday!

 

I’m having a summer play-day with this etheree poetry prompt given to us by the Poetry Princesses/Poetry Sisters. Laura Purdie Salas, one of the Poetry Sisters suggested using   #poetrypals as a hashtag. I took a few minutes to create a sketch for my Curlicuing poem and of course it ended up taking a few more minutes, but hey I’m glad I followed it’s contour lines…

Catherine Flynn is our Poetry Friday host this week at her blog  Reading to the Core. Thanks for hosting the roundup Catherine! She’s sharing a special book, by Emily Winfield Martin and a poem she wrote inspired by this new book–so stop by her post for lots more poetry… 

 

CURLICUING CONTOUR LINES…

Leaves
began 
to grow, and  
they grew and grew… 
Reaching out to me, 
pushing through my window, 
squeeeezing through and dissooolving
all dimensionality. They 

filled my floating floor curlicuing 
contour lines through my inside-outside space…

© 2020 Michelle Kogan

 

SUZIE’S SPIRAL SPIN

Come
Suzie’s
fill me up…
Spiral top spin
and reach toward sky, your
animated stillness
magically transforms
me toward a new universe
filled with possibilities, and
invites all with open minds, hearts, and dreams…

© 2020 Michelle Kogan

 

Visit Renée LaTulippe’s site No Water River to find out more about what Poetry Friday is.

poetry-friday-1-1

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Home, Nature, Pencil Drawing, Poem, Quick Sketches, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Poetry Friday-Summer Etheree’s

  1. cvarsalona says:

    I’m ready to come into your new world of imagination and wonder, Michelle. Your drawing certainly leads me to poem that stretches beyond the page.

  2. Your sketch and etheree are a fun melding of your tremendous talent, Michelle.
    And the fact that you used the word ‘curlicuing’ in your poem is extra impressive. I love the way it rolls off my tongue. 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    Love both your sketch and poem. I also love the word curlicue!

  4. Linda Mitchell says:

    ooooooh, pretty, pretty green. My favorite! I love all shades of green. I claimed it as my color when I was very young. My sister knew she could get my goat if she chose the green item in any game or choice. Your first etheree grows to a lovely ending with outside-space. But that Suzie…full of “s” sounds is super inviting.

  5. Fran Haley says:

    I love the etheree form and how naturally beautifully yours flow, Michelle, in the always-perfect pairing with your image (so fresh and inviting). “Contouring” and “curlicuing” (both such great words) set the reader’s mind to rolling right along the movement in the sketch. The stretched-out words – squeezing, dissolving – have exactly the right poetic pull and I love your use of “dimensionality.” Will let that curl round and round my mind awhile. How I cling to these lines in your second poem: a new universe/ filled with possibilities … yes, let us always be seeing these!

  6. janicescully says:

    All your art and writing is so imaginative! Your poems take us on journeys, there is such movement to far away places, crossing boundaries, imagining big.

  7. tee+d says:

    I love that you added your own artwork into this! What fun!

  8. I can tell you had a lot of fun with this, Michelle. 🙂 I see lots of fishies, and I really appreciate the open invitation in your poem. Thank you!

  9. margaretsmn says:

    Following a doodle to find a poem inspires me to let my hand flow. Love the use of curlicuing through your inside-outside space. Fish appear for me, too.

  10. The link between image and inspiration is keenly established in your post Michelle. You have made your Etheree’s appear effortless. I found myself particularly engaged with the leaves and overall your words convey a sense of gentle movement.

  11. I love your art and that Contour etheree. Totally captures the feeling of being in artistic flow–lovely invitation to let go and dive deep.

  12. Your contour line drawing is so inviting, I want to dive right in! And I love your etherees. Both are filled with movement and possibility and, most importantly, hope! Thank you for sharing, Michelle!

Leave a comment