Poetry Friday–Poetry Reading & daily poems

Hummingbird, Sparrow, Bee, and Moonflowers, WIP, © 2020 Michelle Kogan, watercolor and watercolor pencil.

Happy Poetry Friday!

I’m sharing a little left over summertime before we dive into winter, in celebration of last weeks election results and a Poetry Reading that’s coming up next week.

Next Thursday, November 19th at 6:00 pm, CST
I have the honor of participating in
A Poetry Foundation,
Forms and Features Poetry Reading.

I have been participating in the Poetry Foundation’s poetry workshops, here in Chicago for a number of years. The foundation has invited online participants to take part in reading some of our poetry at an online reading. The event is happening live, and I will be reading two poems, one is about a moonflower. We are all participating virtually online. I’m looking forward to the event and am so grateful to my instructor and accomplished poet Maggie Queeney, who leads us in these fabulous workshops at the Poetry Foundation!

Here’s the Poetry Foundation’s link for the event and for registration.

Here are a few of the haikus I’ve written this past week, tagged with #haikuforhope and #poeticdiversion

cool fall air crawls through
my window and begs me to
begin my morning…
©2020 Michelle Kogan

Detail from, Sunlight and Songbirds, Oil painting, © Michelle Kogan

songbird came by
she stole away my heart with
longing and wonder…
© 2020 Michelle Kogan

I wrote a poem this morning for Margaret Simon’s This Photo Wants to be a Poem post. The photo prompt is an image that poet Laura Purdie Salas took of “grass in a park across the street from her house.” It’s very tall grasses making a series of arches. You can check out the image at Margaret’s post, and the history of these Wednesday night/Thursday morning prompts originally started by Laura as 15 Words or Less poems. Thanks to both Margaret and Laura! Here’s my quick poem:

Crowned garlands curve
and invite you through skies
Brim with blue
Possibility…
© 2020 Michelle Kogan

Forgive my very sparse show on this weeks Poetry Friday, as I finish my art inventory for the Evanston Art Center’s Holiday 2020 Art EXPO show, and attend a local online art and writing SCBWI conference.

Robyn Hood Black, an astute and accomplished haiku writer of all forms is hosting this week’s Poetry Friday roundup, at her blog Life on the Deckle Edge, thanks Robyn! Robyn mentioned last week she’ll be featuring some “HOP TO IT fun & poetic holiday gift ideas,” be sure to stop by.

Visit Renée LaTulippe at No Water River to find out more about what Poetry Friday is.

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Holidays, Home, Nature, Painting, Plein Air Art, Poem, poetry, Sketchbooks, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Poetry Friday–Poetry Reading & daily poems

  1. Mitchell Linda says:

    I think this is a wonderful post! And, haiku is perfect to share the week that Robyn is hosting. What is it about windows that get to us? I wrote about a window this week too. And, I so enjoy seeing the poems at ‘This photo wants to be a poem.’ Those beautiful arches in the photograph. I’m glad that they were there to showcase that brimming blue.

  2. You are filled up with creativity & flow. The moonflower art & poem are exquisite. I can tell your great new ArtYear has already begun. I appreciated the poem from your mentor and cheer your Nov. 19 Poetry Foundation event. I expect to register & attend, but know we will all be with you in close spirit. Go! Go! Go! xox Jan/Bookseedstudio
    ps anytime, my post works, as it’s resources on Holocaust education ~~

  3. margaretsmn says:

    As always, your art creates a little pause in my day. Haiku is a perfect capture of small, yet meaningful, moments. Thanks for stopping by “This Photo”. I love the brimming possibilities.

  4. jama says:

    Have fun with your poetry reading next week and thanks for the lovely haiku and art!!

  5. You are a busy lady! But not too busy to share all of these gems. Enjoy your Poetry Foundation event! 🙂

  6. lindabaie says:

    You are really busy, Michelle, with lots of wonderful things going on & still take time to write some lovely poetry. I saw it before & do love that window picture & the poem, a grand way for waking up! Have a nice week ahead! (We voted!)

  7. katswhiskers says:

    How lovely to catch up with your happenings, Michelle. Your Poetry Foundation event sounds like fun. Your songbird poem and pic stole my heart with its delightful wonder.

  8. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, the busyness in your life is filled with artistic diversions of beauty. Thank you for your lovely words and artwork that brings me to a state of peace in writing “inviting me through skies to begin my Saturday morning”.

  9. maryleehahn says:

    Umm…this is NOT a sparse show! Thanks for all your wonderful words and images!

  10. Susan Bruck says:

    Thanks, as always, for sharing your art and poetry. It doesn’t seem sparse to me! Have fun with your poetry reading. I especially love your moonflower painting.

  11. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes says:

    Oooh, enjoy your poetry reading next week, Michelle! (Hope we get to find out how it went on Friday.) “Blue/possibility” in your last poem struck me in more ways than one. Was that intentional (clever you!) or a happy accident (clever subconscious!) 🙂

  12. Thank you for sharing all, Michelle, and best wishes for all your upcoming creative endeavors!

  13. Kimberly Hutmacher says:

    Congratulations on your reading and upcoming art show, and I love the poetry you shared this week. The cool early morning air has been beckoning me this week, too 🙂

Leave a comment