Poetry Friday Roundup is Here, dusted in Stardust!

Happy Poetry Friday!

The Poetry Friday Roundup is Here!
Please add your link below

In this dark time of year when light is scarce, I like looking up to the sky for hope and inspiration. Before bed each night, I have for a long time instinctually looked out my window checking on moon and stars above…

STARDUST

Stardust stirs our imagination
raises our hopes, and quells our fears,
lifts us from daily doldrums,
wakes forgotten dreams of
working for all world’s
human beings,
finally
being
free
© 2020 Michelle Kogan

I’m sharing a new set of bookmarks inspired by my space friends and available in my Etsy Shop

Space Friends Bookmark, © 2020 Michelle Kogan

Space Friends Bookmark, back, © 2020 Michelle Kogan

And my Space Friends come with a little ditty on the back side…

friends,
no matter how far apart,
always are
near in heart
© 2020 Michelle Kogan

Wishing all safe and healthy navigation through our Holiday Season!

Visit Renée LaTulippe at No Water River to find out more about what Poetry Friday is.

Leave your poetry link with Mister Linky:


About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Holidays, Home, Nature, Painting, pen sketch, Picture Book, Poem, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Poetry Friday Roundup is Here, dusted in Stardust!

  1. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, your thought, “In this dark time of year when light is scarce, I like looking up to the sky for hope and inspiration.” The sky is as calming as earth and it often quells my fears and gives me hope for a new tomorrow. Your poster and video are delightful. Thank you for hosting. I am working on the 2nd installment of my gallery so I will circle back when it is ready for unveiling.

  2. jama says:

    Love your new space friends, Michelle! Your “Stardust” poem is wonderful too. Part of my post today is about the light of hope. I like knowing that you look up at the night sky for inspiration and positivity. I don’t see the Mr. Linky button in your post, so I’ll leave my link here for now:

    holiday grab bag: Susan Branch’s Home for Christmas, Cranberry Tea Cake, a poem, and a wee blog break

    (it goes live at 6 a.m. Friday morning)

    Thanks so much for hosting this week. Happy Holidays!!

  3. Mitchell Linda says:

    Stardust saves the day! Really, such a lovely warm, and comfortable hug in this post, Michelle. Thank you for the new friends. They are adorable! I hope you sell lots and lots of bookmarks. Thanks for hosting in this busy, busy time. How are your fingers? Rest is coming soon. Right?

  4. Such a positive, spirit-lifting poem, Michelle – and such cute bookmarks! Thanks for hosting!

  5. Pingback: A Gift from Robert Frost | Nix the comfort zone

  6. mbhmaine says:

    I love the idea of you looking up at moon and stars every night. Your “Stardust” poem is lovely and I especially like the lines “wakes forgotten dreams.” Whenever I hear the word “stardust” I think of April Pulley Sayre’s wonderful book “Stars Beneath Your Bed: The Surprising Story of Dust.” Have you read it? Thanks so much for hosting this week!

  7. Tabatha says:

    Thank you for keeping us “near in heart” by hosting, Michelle!
    Cute Space Friends!

  8. I love your stardust poem. Because of the way our townhome is sited, I can’t really look out the windows at night to see stars and the moon. I miss that…Your Space Friends are adorable!

  9. Thanks for the liberal sprinkling of stardust Michelle. A poem of such positivity. I now have the strains of the old Byrds song- ‘Hey Mr Spaceman, won’t you please take me along, I won’t do anything wrong’ buzzing around in my head. Enjoy your night-sky gazing. Must admit I enjoy those sorts of small, quiet moments looking skyward too. Thank you for hosting.

  10. Love your Stardust poem, Michelle. I’ve been working with nonets and know they’re trickier than they appear. Thanks so much for hosting. My post will go live in a few hours (2 am Central Time).

  11. Stardust! Magic. Thanks for hosting, Michelle, and for sharing glimpses that are out of this world this week! (Looking forward to Jupiter and Saturn on the 21st…!) I LOVE that you check on the moon and stars each night. I’m sure they appreciate it, and we appreciate you! :0)

  12. lindabaie says:

    Thank you for this inspiring post, Michelle. I shared a favorite book (with poem) about the solstice, a connection to your own celebration of the stars, and looking for hope. I love that sweet rhyme on the back of the bookmarks, too.

  13. Pingback: holiday grab bag: Susan Branch’s Home for Christmas, Cranberry Tea Cake, a poem, and a wee blog break | Jama's Alphabet Soup

  14. Michelle, I just love it that the Space Friends want to work on behalf of HUMAN beings’ freedom. It seems we humans need more help than the average bear with that. The bookmarks are lovely and thank you for hosting!!

  15. Pingback: Poetry Friday: The Writing Table | Reflections on the Teche

  16. margaretsmn says:

    Thanks for hosting today with your spacey spirit. I want to remember to watch the star alignment on the solstice. I love your space creatures. How fun that you made bookmarks with this beautiful, much needed message.

  17. Michelle, thank you for the stardust today and every Poetry Friday! Your space creatures are love-filled, as are you! Thank you for hosting and sharing all your marvelous gifts with us. xo

  18. Michelle, thanks for doing the roundup this week! Love your “stardust” thoughts. At Wild Rose Reader, I have a poem by Richard Blanco titled “Say This Isn’t the End.” Happy Holidays!
    http://wildrosereader.blogspot.com/2020/12/say-this-isnt-end-poem-for-sunday-by.html

  19. haitiruth says:

    Thank you for hosting, Michelle! This is definitely a time for some stardust to raise our eyes from the earth! Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

  20. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Holiday Knitting Edition – Reading to the Core

  21. Karen Edmisten says:

    Michelle, your lovely poem and post made me think about last Sunday night, when I stepped outside with my dog and saw several falling stars (during the Geminid meteor shower.) Their beauty gave me hope and inspiration too. Thanks for hosting.

  22. janicescully says:

    We used to spend time on one of the Finger Lakes in New York and the stars were so brilliant I felt like I’d discovered a different world. Love your painting and your wish for everyone of us to be free.

  23. I especially like “wakes forgotten dreams” from your Stardust poem. What a great thought! I like your long time ritual of looking out your window at the stars. We all should take the time to do this. Thank you for sharing your talents and rituals! Oh, and thanks for hosting, too!

  24. MhShee1104 says:

    I really enjoyed this poem. The idea of finding light when things seem dark is so powerful! Thank you for hosting!

  25. Susan Bruck says:

    Hi Michelle–As always you share such wonder with us! I enjoyed your poem and your space friends. The bookmarks are really awesome–and what a sweet poem on the back! Your little video was great fun, too–I especially enjoyed the music and sound effects. This is a good time for stardust! Thanks for sharing–and for hosting, too.

  26. Pingback: Finding light in the darkness-the practice of gratitude - Soul Blossom Living

  27. Thank you for hosting this week, Michelle! I love hopeful theme of your post this week. Even from inside our bubbles, we send our care and love out into the universe to make the world a better place. Happy holidays to you and yours!

  28. There is so much hope sparkling in this poem, Michelle– hope that we all need right about now! Thank you for hosting and happy holidays!

  29. macrush53 says:

    I needed this poem this morning. So hopeful with stardust and I love the bookmarks. So fun.

  30. Oops! My correct link is supposed to be http://www.robynhoodblack.com/blog/posts/37808 – but the Mr Linky links aren’t showing up on my screen at the moment. Thanks!!

  31. tee+d says:

    I’m finally making my way through reading all of the posts. What a lovely couple of contrasts in your pair of poems – really love the one on the bookmark, too – those are cute. Have a joyous and light-filled holiday.

  32. maryleehahn says:

    Thanks for hosting and for reminding us to look up!

Leave a comment