Poetry Friday–Metaphor

Detail from, Woman and Rose lilies, WIP, © 2021, Michelle Kogan, pencil.

Happy Poetry Friday!

For my post this week I took on the prompt that the Poetry Sisters offered,–including Laura Purdie Salas, Tanita Davis and more… To write a poem using metaphor from either the game with Metaphor Dice, or to use the online metaphor generator. I did the later as I don’t have the game yet… but it looks wonderful and I just purchased one for my niece for her birthday.

COURAGE IS A GARDEN

Courage is like a garden that keeps growing patience…
Life these days can seem daunting
with itty bitty roadblocks waiting
to erupt into earthquakes–
Enter my new iPhone that displayed a small hiccup,
the speaker decided not to speak…
I needed to dig down deep and uncover
some courage from my garden.
Very long story short
with many trials and errors…
Apple agreed to send
a new replacement iPhone.
It appeared–
I backed it up–
Turned it on–
But…
Mail didn’t work!
Okay, more courage required
and more trowels filled with patience.
After searching online
with infinitesimal results…
I decided to either
call my server or Apple–
Apple won–
Two mail accounts needed mending…
One didn’t require too much courage or patience–
Via screen sharing and infinite knowledge
at the other end this account was
revived, humming, and running.
Though my second account required
a bridge of courage…
and, with many trials and much patience,
the courageous screen-shared arrow
and my deep rooted courage teamed together
and came out successful at the other end.
With much gratitude and many thanks,
arrow and I bid adieu…
And me–
I’m readying for my next small roadblock
by mulching in more patience…

Michelle Kogan

Enjoy this dip into Metaphor with Wynton Marsalis…

Sending a call out to Poetry Friday friends who stop by this week. I’ve been having a little trouble keeping up with Poetry Friday posts this last month, as I’ve been participating in Laura Shovan’s wonderfully rich, 9th Annual February Poetry Project, teaching, and working on a submission– so in case I missed something last week I’d love it if you’d fill me in when you drop by. Hopefully I’ll be back on track beginning in March which is almost here …

Karen at her blog Karen Edmisten, aka The Blog With the Shockingly Clever Title, is hosting this weeks Poetry Friday Roundup, thanks Karen–and I think you’ve a catchy title! Karen’s prescribing a poem by Billy Collins this week, so be sure to stop by!

Visit Renée LaTulippe at No Water River to find out more about what Poetry Friday is.

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Home, Nature, Pencil Drawing, Poem, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Poetry Friday–Metaphor

  1. katswhiskers says:

    Hi Michelle. I can relate to this – though my story is different. I bought a new laptop, but still haven’t transferred all my material from my old laptop. Trying to cull as I go. But then I realised it’s been almost 4 months (?) and I still haven’t got my backup program running. Yeeepers! I must finish this process!! So glad you’ve got your phone sorted! (Perhaps I should have just talked to Apple, rather than trying to find my own fixes…)

  2. Sally Murphy says:

    I love your narrative here, Michelle and the way you’ve woven your metaphor into your tale.
    ‘Mulching in more patience’ is something I need to do when dealing with technology. And Wynton’s metaphor is important and a delight to listen to.

  3. janicescully says:

    Your poem is about patience too, isn’t it. I so dread what goes on after purchasing a new device. The video of Winton Marsalis is so wonderful. Thanks for sharing that.

  4. jama says:

    Glad you got your iPhone problems fixed. Enjoyed your poem; the garden metaphor always offers so many possibilities.

  5. lindabaie says:

    I am sorry about the phone problem. I just had an issue with “something” this am, could not figure it out, then of course, I restarted & everything was better. There is that mystery. . . I love your picture & the metaphor of a garden full of courage, that “mulching in more patience”. I guess this year has taught us some of that, though there are times when I still want to kick the wall! I too am challenged, especially Fridays from Laura’s group – so much to read! But, like you, I do what I can & hope I’ve covered most. Enjoy the weekend!

  6. macrush53 says:

    Phone problems are the worst. Requiring so much patience. I love this line: ‘Mulching in more patience’
    I beat myself up over not getting to everyone as well.

  7. maryleehahn says:

    Phone problems abound. Ours was with hubby’s new flip phone. Should be a simple device, right? Wrong.

    I feel your pain. And no worries about missing the roundups. We know you’ll be back. Again, I feel your pain!

  8. Linda Mitchell says:

    Oh, those tiny little roadblocks have me on edge! I hear you on the fullness of February. I went back to in-the-building teaching this week. Didn’t think I was as nervous as I was until I got out of my car and my back gave a spasm. Hmmmmm not admitting to the nerves? Never works. I love how you turned frustration into art and included the brushstrokes of patience. Keep going. Slow going is still going and you’re doing great. Best of luck on your submission!

  9. Oh my goodness. SO much patience required to deal with any kind of technology problem! I love it when a metaphor resonates, as your garden of courage does.

  10. Kay Mcgriff says:

    I love how you harvested courage and patience from your garden. Technology is wonderful–when it works and so frustrating when those snags hit. It is quite a challenge keeping up with all the poetry this month! Most of my posts this month have been poems from the daily prompts.

  11. tee+d says:

    Troweling patience and digging deep for more – both the story of my life and soon of my actual garden again. Here’s to the sweat and callouses… And eventual fruits of our labor!!

  12. Your poem, your layered story is indicative of what my High School Principal called ‘stickability.’ Infinite patience and ultimate resolution. Your garden metaphor proved to be fertile ground Michelle. Good on you!

  13. Karen Edmisten says:

    Love how you moved from the garden to the phone and back again. 🙂 That metaphor generator is such fun! I have a couple poems in the works based on it. Thanks for the thumbs up on my blog name. 😉

  14. I’ve never heard of metaphor dice – or the generator – but I suppose I need to learn more! I think you did a great job with the poem, though, using the title to go beyond “gardening” in the traditional sense and instead considering all the other “gardening” that can we can do.

Leave a comment