Poetry Friday–Ekphrastic Dodoitsu Poems

Spring Blue Crocus, Michelle Kogan © 2022

SPRING’S PERENNIAL LOVE

I’m here, awaiting your love
leaves stretch-wide welcoming you,
your overlooked blue crocus
with blushed affections, xox

© 2022 Michelle Kogan

Happy Poetry Friday!

My post today is all about Ekphrastic Dodoitsu poems. It was offered as a poem prompt from the Poetry Sisters, thank you all, Tanita, Laura, Mary Lee, Liz, Sara, Tricia, and Andi! If you would like to read more of these poems look for them tagged with #PoetryPals. A Dodoitsu is similar to the haiku however instead of 3 lines it has 4, and a syllabic pattern of 7-7-7-5. The poems can be about love or work, and have a comical twist to them–in some of my poems I may have stretched the topic/focus a bit… I’d also like to thank Tanita for the three pics of hers that I borrowed and used for inspiration!

Sunrise-Flowers, Tanita S. Davis © 2022

coneflower your brilliance takes
my breath away, but my heart
skips a beat for your scalloped,
scruffy, ruffy leaves…

© 2022 Michelle Kogan

Tanita S. Davis © 2022

hey tom your pic looks smashing
but, I wonder… think you were
short changed appearing on a
two-dollar green back?

© 2022 Michelle Kogan

Tanita S. Davis © 2022

family get-together–
china’s out, rings, and goblets
tied with lace, even kisses,
but nobody shows…

© 2022 Michelle Kogan

Robin on Fence, Michelle Kogan © 2022

ROBIN ‘S TRUE LOVE

my spring love lies underground…
soils soften, earth-digester
continues its compost task,
and I peck below

© 2022 Michelle Kogan

Sending more thoughts and hope to all the brave Ukrainian people…

Amy Ludwig VanDerwater at her blog The Poetry Farm is hosting this week’s Poetry Friday Roundup, thanks Amy! I’m looking forward to reading your post!

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Home, Nature, Poem, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Poetry Friday–Ekphrastic Dodoitsu Poems

  1. margaretsmn says:

    Fun poems all! I love the word choice in Robin’s True Love…earth-digester. Your poems make me feel like spring is here.

  2. gailaldousmsncom says:

    Michelle, I have never heard of this form before. I like your cute and fun Dodoitsu poems, especially the one about your beautiful blue crocus and the one about the beautiful, two-colored coneflower, which I have never seen. This is funny “my heart/skips a beat for your scalloped, scruffy, ruffy leaves…” I don’ t have any crocuses up, yet. It’s going down to 36 degrees tonight and 21 degrees Sunday night. Thank you for sharing and your inspiration. We only have purple, yellow, and white crocuses around here. Your blue one is stunning!

  3. amyludwigvanderwater says:

    I just learned about this form today too and it helped me to read several at once. Thank you! I especially am smiling at your words spoken to and from these creatures and flowers. Each flower is so truly its own soul, and your words “leaves stretch-wide welcoming you” feels truer than true. (Going out to my yard to look for flower hugs!) Happy spring! xo

  4. Thank you, Michelle, and your poetry pals for this inspirational form… going on my list to try and share amongst our #Nevermores… And I’m definitely partial to your robin 🙂

  5. jama says:

    Wonderful job, Michelle!! I especially love the blue crocus’s blushed affections and the robin’s spring love underground (just last week our front lawn was full of robins). 🙂 Hooray for spring!

  6. You are always up for a challenge, Michelle – love those “blushed affections”! Thanks for sharing all of these.

  7. lindabaie says:

    Super all the way through, Michelle, welcoming spring & having a little joke on Tom with that two-dollar bill!

  8. These are wonderful! My favorite is the cone-flower, with those enchanting scruffy ruffy leaves… 🙂

  9. tee+d says:

    Oh, that blue crocus is just gorgeous and I’m rather fond of the robins pecking away in our yard, too. And isn’t it funny that the most lovely little flower has just such …scruffy foliage? Even the sort of sagey gray-green helps it look tired and worn against the other brighter shades, but there’s a method to its madness, I think. It saves its brightest hues for those two-toned petals… I’m glad you found so much to work with!

  10. What a great assortment, Michelle! I’ve been watching the robins build nests as I write :>) I’m upstairs, so I don’t have to watch as they yank the earth-digesters out of the ground! Oh, that beautiful table setting with nobody able to gather. I’ve been through an emotional roller coaster in your post!

  11. So many great poems! I really love the robin’s love as an “earth-digester.”

  12. maryleehahn says:

    I love them ALL but especially that question for Tom and the ruffy leaves!! (Side note — I have that same rhino napkin holder!!!)

  13. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes says:

    I’m feeling quite drawn to those “scruffy, ruffy” leaves! A great combo of poems and photography in this post, Michelle. I especially love the beautiful Robin photo. Thanks for your fun sense of humor, too! I’m sorry I never replied when I got your New Year’s card earlier this year, but please know it was really appreciated. Thank you!

  14. Oh, you had fun with these, Michelle! Thanks for sharing all those, not to mention bonus photos.

  15. Elisabeth says:

    Thanks for highlighting this poetic form for us and for sharing your examples. It was nice to see spring where you are through the photos and your words about them.

  16. Susan T. says:

    Lovely poems & photos! The first is a nice reminder to take a look around our yard and see what I’ve missed in these very early days of spring.

  17. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, please excuse the lateness in commenting. The cataract surgery has left me with a rigid eye regimen and tired eyes. I am surprised by the number of dodoitsus you created with such flair. I looked at the $2 bill and could not come up with something funny but you did and the table setting said so much in such a small amount of words. Leave it to you to serve a beautiful setting for us.

Leave a comment