Poetry Friday–Ghazal Challenge

Happy Poetry Friday

Bearded Iris and buds, © 2023 Michelle Kogan

We were invited to try on a Ghazal Poem form for the month of May, by the Poetry Sisters. Thanks to all the Sister’s for this stretching challenge,  Laura,  Tanita,  Mary Lee,  Liz,  Kelly,  Tricia,  Sara, and Andi.  Find more of these poems tagged with #PoetryPals. I have written at least one other Ghazal maybe two at the most–they’re a good challenge, and unfortunately I had only a wee bit of time… Here’s my very drafty Ghazal.

RELATIONSHIPS–STAGNATE OR CHANGE

Countries advance but stagger emotionally,
Equilibrium sandbagger short on balance.

Familial cries breakthrough and arise hope,
Best keep those hopes in low-key, wee-size balance.

Earth’s stewardship struggles with each breath
Hurry wake world stupor-troubles or lose all earth’s balance…

Bearded Iris wouldn’t budge her forgone-fudged bloom
though transplanted into sun she shines with beauty in balance.

Hey time, won’t you s-l-o-o-o-w down a bit…
Let folks like Michelle unfurl their whirl and center their balance.

© Michelle Kogan, draft

Here’s some music to remember Tina Turner, thanks for all you gave us!

Patricia J. Franz at her blog Reverie is hosting this week’s Poetry Friday Roundup, thanks Patricia,—She’s celebrating Cento’s be sure to stop by!

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Holidays, Home, Nature, Poem, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Poetry Friday–Ghazal Challenge

  1. Patricia Franz says:

    Deft internal rhymes add a layer of richness to your ghazal – I’m especially drawn to “Familial cries breakthrough and arise hope…” And your bearded iris is jaw-dropping!

  2. murphpoet says:

    Not so draft, Michelle. This exploration of balance is lovely – and I especially liked the final couplet Hey time, won’t you s-l-o-o-o-w down a bit…
    Let folks like Michelle unfurl their whirl and center their balance

    It slowed ME down a little and I found myself exhaling and feeling balanced with you.

  3. maryleehahn says:

    I could have taken that iris photo! I have yellow ones, too, and a chainlink fence in the background!!

    I love your exploration of balance (or the lack thereof…) This is my favorite stanza (not because I love what’s happening, but because it’s so well put):
    “Earth’s stewardship struggles with each breath
    Hurry wake world stupor-troubles or lose all earth’s balance…”

  4. lindabaie says:

    I saw Tina in concert long ago, sad to say goodbye yet we’ll still keep dancing! Your poem connects to the book Jama shares today, too, Michelle, and your ghazal cements earth’s call, “unfurl their whirl” now! Well done!

  5. tee+d says:

    (This may be comment #2, WordPress is giving me grief today.)
    I am here to argue that this is only a draft if YOU are not happy with it. Each couplet takes us faithfully one way or the other, briefly pauses for a happily-ever-after for an iris, and then we sway back and forth again – balanced, imbalanced, always striving. Five stars, plus a gorgeous iris! I think this is great.

  6. janicescully says:

    Lovely iris which seems to complement the plea of the last line of your poem, for time to slow down a bit to appreciate what we have and give us more time to save it. I remember being mesmerized by Tina Turner’s song “Private Dancer.” She was amazing.

  7. margaretsmn says:

    I always sign my poems on my blog with “draft” because there is no done when it comes to writing a poem. Mary Oliver once said she would write 40 drafts, but Wild Geese just came out in one. So sometimes a draft is a finished miracle. Ghazals are so hard in my opinion. I love the choice of the word balance to “balance” on, or teeter on.

  8. Jone says:

    Thank your for this reminder to sl0-0-0-0-w down and twirl. The iris is gorgeous.

  9. Appreciations for your bearded iris, ghazal goodness [ every poem in my world is only a draft] & the heart for Tina Turner, RIP. XO

  10. Lovely ghazal! I particularly loved “forgone-fudged bloom.”

  11. Linda Mitchell says:

    Oh, that bearded Iris steals the show–unapologetically! Wow. You have written a beautiful ghazal to showcase need. Lovely. And, thank you for the Tina video. It’s hard to believe she’s gone.

  12. Lou Piccolo says:

    ‘Unfurl their whirl” is a great line. Not such a drafty ghazal. It grabbed me and drew me in to the end!

  13. Liz Garton Scanlon says:

    Oooooo balance!! Such fine work, especially because balance is a big and weighty word!!

  14. Karen Edmisten says:

    Ghazals seem challenging, but you make it look easy (and beautiful.) And balanced. 🙂
    RIP, Queen Tina!

  15. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, I finally got to your post. I had no time to try to write a ghazal. I never wrote one and do like your perspective. I think slowing down is a perfect wish for the summer especially so “Michelle can unfurl her whirl and center her balance.” It’s fun reading what the Poetry Princesses come up with.

Leave a comment