Poetry Friday–Roundup is Here!

Baird’s Sandpiper, threatened species, © Michelle Kogan, watercolor and watercolor pencil.

Happy Poetry Friday and Happy Early Father’s Day!

I’m Happy to be hosting the Poetry Friday Round up! Please leave your link with Mister Linky at the end of my post.

My tanka poem and celebration of Father’s day is inspired by feathered fathers out there, and especially male birds that take on that extra challenge of helping out. One particular male bird that does this is the Spotted Sandpiper. I’ve had the pleasure of watching these engaging birds at a local Chicago bird sanctuary and beach. At one time I could get very close and photograph them, however recently the area has been fenced off to help a few piping plovers that continue to return each spring. Although there’s a barrier between us, I’ll continue to return and hope that I can catch a glimpse of them between the fences… And I know those fences are there to help all the shoreline birds stay safe and hopefully flourish.

SPOTTED SANDPIPER PRIDE

Teetering ‘round our
habitat ground our sex’s
look-alike. We males
solo egg-chick rearing
with fatherly delight.

©  2023 Michelle Kogan, draft

Spotted Sandpiper Chick with Dad

Happy Fathers Day
to feathered and non-feathered Dads
and those we miss dearly too!
💙xox💗

BTW I have the pair of Baird’s Sandpipers on the top available in my Etsy shop as an archival print and also as a set of three bookmarks. The Baird’s Sandpiper are in the same family as the Spotted Sandpiper, though the Baird’s Sandpiper is a threatened species.

To all my Milkweed growing friends… Your milkweed plants are probably kicking into high gear as June continues to warm. Here’s a friendly reminder to check for aphids on your plants, which can do quite a negative number on the plant over all.

Here are two ways you can take care of the unwanted aphids:
• Power spray them with your hose
• Squish them so they’re gone right away

I do a bit of both. Also remember to check all over the plant especially on the backs of the leaves. This can help deter an aphid infestation later in the summer. Which unfortunately I had a taste of last summer.

Happy and Healthy Milkweed Growing with many Monarch Butterfly Visits!

Summer Milkweed Archival Print © 2020 Michelle Kogan Available in my Etsy Shop.

Leave your link with the lovely Mister Linky:

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Home, Nature, Nature photos, Painting, Plein Air Art, Poem, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Poetry Friday–Roundup is Here!

  1. jama says:

    The spotted sandpiper video is adorable!!! Love that chick!! Thanks for the beautiful art, tanka, and milkweed tips. Always learn something new here. And thanks for hosting this week!!

  2. “fatherly delight” indeed! What a great poem for Father’s Day weekend, Michelle!

  3. janicescully says:

    Love hearing about fathers in nature who watch over their young as we are about to celebrate Father’s Day! I just love the Sandpipers in photos and in painting.

  4. A glorious tribute for Father’s Day, Michelle – thank for sharing all, including your art and nurturing-of-nature tips! Much appreciation for hosting this week.

  5. Well, what a nice stop I had here! The video is so sweet, and I loved the tribute to feathered fathers. Spotted Sandpipers are some of my favorites.

  6. Linda Mitchell says:

    Awwwww, those Papa Sandpiper’s are cute! It’s going to be a great Father’s Day this June for my brood. We will be together. Yay! Thanks for hosting this week. I’m sorry, I got you and Janice mixed up. Glad that you are here with an early Mr. Linky. I’m wishing you some time for rest and recharge. Your painting makes it look like you’ve been super busy!

  7. Michelle, Thanks for hosting. I always love your art and relation to nature. Have you ever read the book Monarchs and Milkweed by Anurag Agrawal (2017). https://www.amazon.com/Monarchs-Milkweed-Migrating-Remarkable-Coevolution/dp/0691166358 It’s intriguing and in it he talks about the ecosystem that revolves around milkweed – (including aphids). It is pretty scientific (he’s a Cornell University researcher) but he makes a lot of sense to me. I’ve had aphid infestations on my milkweed, too. His book might make you look at it differently. As far as my milkweed here in northern Wisconsin, there’s a ton of it but nothing is eating it – much like last year. You can be sure I’ll be keeping my eye open for larva. Thanks for expressing your love of nature through art (and words).

  8. Karen Edmisten says:

    That video was incredibly sweet and huzzah for all the sandpipers, from the video to your poem to your print. Love!

  9. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Ruminating on Jane Kenyon’s “Evening at a Country Inn” – Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

  10. What a sweet tribute to Papa Pipers all over! Love the poem, and the artwork is beautiful, Michelle – thanks for hosting!

  11. Thanks for the tanka, Michelle. Feathery fathers can be both attentive and instructive.

  12. lindabaie says:

    I love the video and seeing that curious baby, then back ‘under’ to safety I guess. This is a loving post, Michelle, with beauty in your art surrounding it all. Your summer milkweed painting is beautiful and the poem’s ‘fatherly delight’! Thanks for hosting!

  13. Pingback: you say tomato, I say tomahto (+ a summer blog break) | Jama's Alphabet Soup

  14. Beautiful art! I especially like the colors. And I enjoyed the tanks tribute to fatherhood. “Fatherly delight “ reminds me of my brother’s parenting advice- he always tells new parents “Have fun!”

  15. amyludwigvanderwater says:

    Oh, thank you for this celebration of both sandpipers and dads. Our daughter works with piping plovers in the summers (Fire Island, NY), and I will look forward to sharing this with her. Thank you, too, for the milkweed tips. We have so much, and while I have never noticed issues with them, it is wise to check and great to know what to do if we need to do something. Happy summer, Michelle! xo

  16. Hi Michelle, I forgot to comment when I shared my link last night. I love your beautiful images and tanka. The video is so cute. What a great Father’s Day celebration! Thanks for hosting.

  17. Lou Piccolo says:

    I wonder what the evolutionary reason is for these male birds (and any others) to do this? Do you know or shall I Google?
    Your art is beautiful, your tribute touching and your Tanka lovely with a title that made me smile. Thank you for hosting, Michelle!

  18. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, our post is so festive today with gorgeous artwork. It is a clever thought to honor the beautiful bird Dads and fathers this weekend. Happy Father’s Day weekend! We will continue our celebration of our sweet Sierra’s 6th birthday and happy fathers on Sunday.

  19. Pingback: Tail of Red, Tip of White, by Amy Ludwig VanDerwater

  20. Patricia Franz says:

    Gorgeous artwork, Michelle. I especially love your bookmarks with the color and haiku to give life to the sandpiper.

  21. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Purple Creek | Reflections on the Teche

  22. Ramona says:

    That Papa sandpiper video must makes my heart happy! Wonderful tanka. And your summer milkweed print is exquisite. Wishes for a happy Father’s Day to your family.

Leave a comment