Poetry Friday–Poem Prompt, Holiday Prep, & Inktober…

Ethereal Mother Moon, © 2023 Michelle Kogan, Archival Print, from a pen and ink and watercolor painting. Available in my Etsy Shop.

I gave the Poetry Sister’s October Poem Prompt a try… They offered quite an intriguing challenge this month, to write a Bouts-Rimé poem. Here’s a bit about Bouts-Rimé from the blog LADY IN READ WRITES–where she devotes an entire post to the form. You are also supposed to exchange your end rhymes with another poet. As I was a wee bit short on time I did a one way exchange with Emily Dickinson and her poem THERE IS ANOTHER SKY, I also used Dickinson’s poem as a mentor poem with a few changes of my own.

Thanks to all the Poetry Sisters for this months challenge! Stop by their blogs and read their poetic responses, Tanita, Laura, Mary Lee, LizSaraTriciaKelly, and Andi. Find more Bouts-Rimé poems tagged with #PoetryPals. 

WANDER WITH HOPE

Eyes search somewhere for sky
Congenial and fair,
And somewhere for sunshine
Though heavy clouds still hide there;
Shall we restore those forests Austin
Shall we restore those pesticide-filled fields—
Life’s sprouting in our old growth forest
With new saplings all shades of green,
Life’s sprouting in our milkweed garden
Where the monarchs have always been,
In its ever fragrant flowers
Beside the many pollinator hum:
Heed bee’s climate warning dear Brother,
Join us and we’ll turn this tide, do come!

© 2023 Michelle Kogan, draft

I’m in the midsts of prepping for a November – December Holiday Fair taking place at the Evanston Art Center, Evanston, IL. Hence I’m sharing a few of the items that I also just added to my Etsy Shop. They also happen to include ink and I’ve worked on some over this last month of Inktober but haven’t had time to post them.

Set of 5 Evergreen Old-Growth Forests Bookmarks above with haiku on reverse below.

Old Growth Forest Greeting Card, from my watercolor & pen & ink painting.

Hanukkah Light, Hope, & Joy Greeting Card, from my watercolor & pen & ink painting.

Hoping to spread some Joy, Hope, and Peace 🕊 for the forthcoming Holidays!

Carol Labuzzetta at her blog The Apples in My Orchard is hosting this week’s Poetry Friday Roundup, thanks Carol– she’s offering an intriguing look into bats… Be sure to stop by and fill up on poetry!

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Halloween, Holidays, Home, Nature, Painting, pen sketch, Poem, poetry, Trips, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Poetry Friday–Poem Prompt, Holiday Prep, & Inktober…

  1. Tabatha says:

    Beautiful, Michelle! Thank you for offering us beauty and hope today.

  2. Tracey Kiff-Judson says:

    Michelle, Ethereal Mother Moon fascinates me. I could look at that for hours. I have so many questions about how you created it. I also love Old Growth Forests. Stunning! Your artwork always offers a sense of calm in this chaotic world.

  3. maryleehahn says:

    I love that you enlisted Emily D to give you your rhymes! What a challenge!! Thanks for joining in so creatively!

    And your old-growth forest bookmarks are fantastic. Your ethereal moon and Hanukkah card, too! So inspiring!

  4. Your art and words are beautiful, Michelle! So much talent! I love the old growth forest concept and you’ve made me feel grateful that I live in one! Thanks! I hope you have lots of sales at the Holiday Art Fair in Evanston! It’s so much work to prepare for one of those! (I haven’t done one in years.)

  5. lindabaie says:

    I do love your words that do “Wander With Hope”, and the illustrations are lovely, Michelle! Best wishes at your sale!

  6. jama says:

    Beautiful job, Michelle! A poem of hope and optimism is just what we need. Lovely art here today, too!!!

  7. tee+d says:

    What a smart way to get your lines! (And we know dear Emily would have taken yours in exchange, had she been available.) You squeezed in a bit of poetry play in amongst the busyness – thank you for joining the fun.

  8. Love your Old Growth art, Michelle! And am intrigued to learn more about the Bouts-Rimé form, especially collaborating with poets (back in time).

  9. Mitchell Linda says:

    What a beautiful place for my eyes to land this morning…so much beauty here. Thank you for a peek at what must be your busiest time of the year. I love the Hanukkah card. There is so much hope in your poem from eyes lifted up to life sprouting in the garden. Beautiful.

  10. Denise Krebs says:

    Michelle, your sweet poem makes me have hope for Mother Earth. It rings of Emily too–is it her rhymes? Or did you channel your inner Emily to write it? Absolutely lovely.

  11. Linda KulpTrout says:

    “Wander with Hope” is just what we need right now. Your art is always so lovely. I always enjoy seeing the beauty you create. Thank you!

  12. Life’s sprouting in our milkweed garden
    Where the monarchs have always been,

    Those lines…something beautiful and melancholy too. Just because the monarchs HAVE always been there doesn’t mean they WILL always be there. Gorgeous bookmarks, too, Michelle!

  13. You Poetry Sisters always challenge and delight us all, and I always love seeing what you’re up to in your studio! (You’re miles ahead of me this year.) LOVE your beautiful moon and lovely bookmarks. Wishing you a wonderful (oh-my-gosh-I-can’t-believe-it’s-November) season, in inspiration and in sales! (Happy Halloween, first.) ;0)

Leave a comment