Poetry Friday–Joys of Subzero Temps…


Icefish 2024, © 2024 Michelle Kogan, photo.

We had some very cold weather in Chicago this last week, however my poem emerged from a surprise directly related to the cold… And a lot of help from Mother Nature, whom I thank immensely.

FROZEN DAY SURPRISE…

Icefish swam
upon my window…
Bejeweled and
indifferent to
the frigid temps…
She has glorious
snow-flowered gills
and wheat-like
waving tail fins.

She left me a hug
along with a heart
and snow babbled,
“I’ve many peep-sills
to post on, 
Au revoir!”

SNOW-BABBLE EPILOGUE 

Icefish swam away   
after a few days,  
but will forever   
be etched    
in my memory…    
xox

© 2024 Michelle Kogan, draft

Icefish Kiss, Hugs, and Hearts, 2024, © 2024 Michelle Kogan, photo and digital art.

Robyn Hood Black, artist, writer, and haiku aficionado is hosting this week’s Poetry Friday Roundup at her blog, Life on the Deckle Edge, thanks Robyn! Be sure to drop by.

Sending compass thoughts
in all cardinal directions 
keep warm!

© 2024 Michelle Kogan, draft

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Home, Nature, Poem, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Poetry Friday–Joys of Subzero Temps…

  1. Mitchell Linda says:

    ooooooh! Ice fish. What a great way to see the patterns on the windows…and some great personification there too. I love this poem. It gives me a friendly feeling.

  2. Elisabeth says:

    What a wonderful source of inspiration for your poem! I love the luscious language you use to describe it:

    “glorious
    snow-flowered gills
    and wheat-like
    waving tail fins”

    Just lovely!

  3. Tracey Kiff-Judson says:

    This is very cool! I love that your imagination saw that frosty fish and didn’t let it get away!

  4. lindabaie says:

    Not all my windows left the ice pictures but I loved every one that did, Michelle. Like yours, I “saw” things. I love your “snow-flowered gills”, and finding the heart. We have cold again today but not as bad as earlier! Keep warm!

  5. joannearlymacken says:

    Good for you for finding beauty in the cold! I’m determined to walk outside today–I’ve avoided it long enough!

  6. Tabatha says:

    I like those snow-flowered gills, too! So creative!

  7. I so hope an icefish will show up here, too; I need something to shake me out of my resentment of the cold! Thank you for the reminder to keep an eye out for something unexpected.

  8. Thanks so much for sharing your icefish with us and your terrific photo, Michell. I love that she has so many peep-sills to post on. I hope she pays me a visit, too!

  9. janicescully says:

    At first I didn’t notice the ice fish. It took a second look after reading your post. I love how you find your art all around you. And thanks for the intro to Patty Griffin. She has a striking voice!

  10. I love that you discovered this icefish that showed up in the storm! Your language here is wonderful–I am particularly delighted by the word “bejeweled” for how it conjures up images of both snowflakes and fish scales.

  11. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, how lovely your fish etching is! I found one too this week but it was not as artistic as yours. I have to admit that my snow bauble left my windshield for a sidetrip to someplace warm. I did not go outside yet to see what surprise this storm today will live me. Thank you for your compass thoughts on warmth. PS: I mentioned your beautiful Happy New Year card that I received from you and added your fabulous artwork because it has to be enjoyed by many people more than me.

  12. margaretsmn says:

    An ice fish on your window, how amazing. I love that you captured the memory in such a whimsical poem.

  13. rosecappelli says:

    Mother Nature loves to delight, doesn’t she? Thanks for sharing your observations in such a fun way.

  14. maryleehahn says:

    Three cheers for making art from nature’s art in the arctic (art-ic?) blast!

  15. Those snow-flowered gills! Yes!

  16. Love those snow-flowered gills!!

  17. Denise Krebs says:

    Oh, my Michelle, such an artist to find snowfish swimming on your windows and hearts and hugs in the frigid temperatures. Such a clever and beautiful post.

  18. That bejeweled icefish–I would not have noticed it swimming on the window, and am so glad to see it now! Snow-flowered gills is such a striking image.

  19. PATRICIA J FRANZ says:

    Nature is aMAZING! I lingered on those eensy windowed feathers. Beautiful!

  20. haitiruth says:

    Brr! I can’t imagine being that cold! It is lovely, though!

    (I already tried once to comment so please forgive me if this comes through twice.)

  21. You never miss an opportunity to “catch” inspiration, Michelle! Thanks for sharing all of this with us. Keep warm!

Leave a comment