Poetry Friday-haiku and sketch

1-michelle-kogan-februarys-garden-2-2-2017

can you hear the birds
february’s songbirds, they’re
chattering, they’re here.

© 2017 Michelle Kogan

 

Thanks Penny Parker Klosterman for hosting Poetry Friday today, visit her blog for more Poetry Friday poems at:pennyklostermann.com

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Haiku, Nature, Painting, pen sketch, Plein Air Art, Poem, Quick Sketches, Sketchbooks, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Poetry Friday-haiku and sketch

  1. bjleepoet says:

    Love your haiku Michelle! What a sweet relief to finally hear the songbirds! I live in Florida now but well I remember any harbinger of spring in freezing Boston!

  2. Lovey haiku and sketch. It’s been too chilly to stay outside long enough to hear the birds other than the honking of the sandhill cranes as they migrate through our area.

  3. dorireads says:

    Ah, yes. I love February song birds!

  4. lindabaie says:

    Your painting is gorgeous, Michelle, and that haiku, too, but our only song here right now is from chickadees. But they’re sweet to hear! I’m glad they’re there for you!

  5. I miss the goldfinches eating the echinacea seed, darting away as I go past. How can they perch on a bloom? I always wonder. Each year, I don’t deadhead my coneflowers, so they will come back.

  6. We’ve been hit with a very rare February snowstorm, so all of our songbirds are curled up in their nests!

  7. maryleehahn says:

    I JUST (JUST!!!) heard a wren outside the window!

  8. So beautiful! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  9. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, this is so lovely: a haiku of hope, optimism, and promise of joys to come. How about combining it into an image poem for my winter gallery? It will fit beautifully with the theme.

  10. I love your sketches – and oh, how I long for the return of spring! The snow has finally melted away, and I’m waiting for those songbirds to finally come home!

  11. I do! I do! I await my beloved songbirds of spring each year. I love your work and your words!

  12. What a lovely invitation. We’ve had such a warm winter that our birds haven’t really left us. But, the songs of birds are such a comfort. Your sketch is beautiful? What do you use? Have a great week.

  13. maryleehahn says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE your illustration! And the contrast between that visual and the songbirds…perfect for February! I’m watching the buds swell on the tree outside my classroom window — HOPE is alive!

  14. Sally Murphy says:

    Wonderful pairing of sketch and haiku, Michelle. I am sitting in summer het listening to galahs and other native birds enjoying the heat.

  15. Yes, they are here, and I welcome the daily chatter! Such a beautiful pairing of poem and watercolor, Michelle. Oh! just noticed this is last week’s post. Thanks for the second chance to catch it!

Leave a comment