Poetry Friday-Lee Bennett Hopkins Birthday Bash! and #NaPoWriMo day 13

1a-aBirthday-birdies--4-12-2018-

 

A
Celebration
of
Jubilation
of
Historical
Consideration!

With
Bookish
Balloons
and
Wild Wacky
Words,
Marvelous
Metaphors
and
Scrumptious 
Similes!

Stir them
Shake them
Stick them
In a Pan

Dim the Lights
Drum Roll 
Please…

It’s 
A
Birthday
Bash
for

LEE BENNETT HOPKINS!

Hip Hip
Hooray, 
Hip Hip
Hooray, 
Hip Hip
HOOOOOORAY!

© 2018 Michelle Kogan

Happy Poetry Friday, and Happy National Poetry Month! For Poetry Friday many of us are celebrating Lee Bennett Hopkins Birthday Today! He happens to be a favorite poet of mine, and I’m very happy to shine more light in his honor. I think he was a favorite of mine before I knew who he actually was. One of the first poetry anthology books of his I collected was Marvelous Math. In this mix I’m particularly fond of his poem Sky.

Marvelous Math- Lee Bennett Hopkins 2018 

SKY
by Lee Bennett Hopkins

Decimal point
meteors
streak
through
the night

Fractions
of moonbeams
gleam 
white-bright–

I couldn’t find the rest of the poem online so you’ll either have to buy the book or check it out of your local library. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes featured Lee on her blog at Today’s Little Ditty, and he challenged us to write a Me Poem. I wrote Toady, for this challenge and I was quite taken by his comments in response to my poem. Toady eventually found it’s way into Michelle’s first poetry anthology The Best of Today’s Little Ditty, 2014-2015.

I have one additional poem I’ve written in Lee’s honor and another poem of his that I’m sharing, they are both titled SPRING.

My poem below address Spring’s reluctant weather here in Chicago. Though some where off the wild and windy breezes of our grand Lake Michigan, Mother Nature  graced us with a few lovely hours of Spring like weather, hope it returns again soon!

 

SPRING

Waiting–
Waiting–
When
will it
come…

Checking–
Rechecking–
My plants
One by
One…

April
Has come,
Spring
are you
Here?

I’ve 
Waited 
An eternity
And won’t wait
Another
Year!

©2018 Michelle Kogan

 

SPRING 
By Lee Bennett Hopkins

Roots
sprouts
buds
flowers

always–
always–
cloud-bursting showers

Read the rest of Lee’s poem at Poetry for Children!

 

For National Poetry Month, I’ve been busy writing poems and reading poems on blogs and, there just aren’t enough hours in the day, maybe I’ll have to give up on sleep for the rest of the month… On my blog I’ve been focusing on flora and fauna Here’s a list of the poems I’ve posted so far:
Poem one–  DEAR APRIL
Poem two–Haiku Azaleas
Poem three–ODE TO SHUN LEE
Poem four–Haiku Daffodils
Poem five–APRIL’S MYSTERIES
Poem six–APRIL’S BUDS  
Poem seven–A LOVELY BEETLE
Poem eight–CHANGES IN NATURE
Poem nine-HURRY SPRING  

Poem 10-ANIMAL TRACKS
Poem 11-APRIL SNAKE 
Poem 12-Haiku NARCISSUS

You can also visit Jama at Jama’s Alphabet Soup for a detailed description and links of other poetry blogs featuring poems for National Poetry Month Kidlitosphere Roundup.

Robyn Hood Black at Life on the Deckle Edge is hosting this weeks Poetry Friday Roundup, thanks Robyn! She’s concocting more Birthday Celebrations for Lee Bennett Hopkins, and  has also spearheaded our posts in his direction.

 

SaveSave

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Holidays, Nature, Painting, pen sketch, Pencil Drawing, Picture Book, Plein Air Art, Poem, Quick Sketches, Sketchbooks, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Poetry Friday-Lee Bennett Hopkins Birthday Bash! and #NaPoWriMo day 13

  1. Those birds! Thanks for this wild ruckus of Spring celebrations in Lee’s honor, Michelle – beautiful post!

  2. lindabaie says:

    Your painting is fabulous, Michelle, and I loved your special poem plus the other extras, too. The “Stir them
    Shake them
    Stick them
    In a Pan” is terrific!

  3. Alice Nine says:

    Michelle, your “birthday bash” is fabulous. I love the birthday birds!

  4. amyludwigvanderwater says:

    I love this party in word and bird! Such a magnificent gift, Michelle…for all of us! xx

  5. jama says:

    Your party birds are the BEST, Michelle! Fab celebration poem, too. Thanks for everything in this festive post. 🙂

  6. I love the art, and your restless spring-watching. What a fun party, today. I hope LBH stops by a few places.

  7. Your poem is a glorious celebration of words–and I love the cheery birds! Here in Wisconsin, we’re watching for signs of spring, too. I hope it appears soon!

  8. What happy party birds! And fun poems to match.

  9. Hip Hip Hooray! What a jubilant day! If I wasn’t already in a celebratory mood, I surely would be now. 😀 Thanks for sharing yours and Lee’s poems—you sound pretty ready for spring to arrive, girl! And many thanks also for the link love. I remember first reading Lee’s comment on Toady and thinking how very special that was.

  10. carwilc says:

    Like several others, I love the birds! I’m blown away by people who have so, so many talents. And like you, I keep going out to check my plants. We have been swinging wildly between days with the temperature in the 70’s and days in the 30’s and snow. We need the moisture, but the spring flowers are not handling it very well.

  11. Both yours & Lee’s poems are a welcome sign of spring, Michelle – and I love your Yellow-breasted Hopkins Warblers!

  12. Kay Mcgriff says:

    Hip, hip hurrah! for Lee and for all the poetry he has inspired over the years. I think spring in Indiana must be playing with spring in Chicago. She’s definitely a tease this year.

  13. margaretsmn says:

    Your poem celebrates LBH in great style, wonderful word choice, and awesome alliteration. I saw how you all are getting another snow storm. Ugh! Enough! Time for spring.

  14. Man, Michelle–somehow you really bring home what a full-time job April is for us children’s poetry people! I love your fanfare of a poem and everything about this. Thanks for reminding me about that math anthology….

  15. All fabulously fun, Michelle. Such lovely tributes for Lee this week! And, yes, it’s taking an eternity for spring to get here. It is sleeting outside as I glance out the window. Enough!

  16. Michelle, this post is full of all my favorite things: words, birds, and poetry! Your celebratory birds are delightful, as is your poem honoring Lee. If you see spring, let me know. It’s missing from Connecticut, too!

Leave a comment