Poetry Friday: Lollipop… & Moon

2-Lollipop tulips- art haiku-M Kogan-5-14-2020

Lollipop Tulips, © 2020 Michelle Kogan, pen and ink and watercolor.

Happy Poetry Friday!

Sharing some of my front yard tulips that were begging to be seen…

lollipop tulips
lollygagging mid may’s
day away…

© 2020 Michelle Kogan

 

And a poem that Dear Moon asked me to write…

DEAR MOON

Moon shone through
My shade last night

   She said,
You missed me
Yester-night

When I shone even
More a-bright,

I shine a-bright
For just a-few

…You’re in my few
I count on you…

  I said,
Dear Moon
I feel so blue,

I hope my blue
Stays clear of you…

If you can,
If you might

Forgive me Moon
For missing you, xox

© 2020 Michelle Kogan

This poem needs a picture of Dear Moon…

Dear moon-M Kogan-5-14-2020

Dear Moon, © 2020 Michelle Kogan, watercolor, and pens.

 

Jama Rattigan at her delicious, and illustrious blog Jama’s Alphabet Soup is hosting this weeks Poetry Friday roundup! She’s serving up some yummy chocolate cookies in poetry and images. Stop by for a bite and more poetry goodness…

Visit Renée LaTulippe’s site No Water River to find out more about what Poetry Friday is.

Screen-Shot-2018-12-27-at-6.19.40-PM

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Haiku, Home, Nature, Painting, pen sketch, Plein Air Art, Poem, Quick Sketches, Sketchbooks, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Poetry Friday: Lollipop… & Moon

  1. katswhiskers says:

    Oh, lovely! Each poem and illustration is a delight. Lollygagging is such a fun word! – and I love the phraseology of your moon poem.

  2. lindabaie says:

    Love the ‘lollygagging’ & ‘lollipops’, Michelle, but especially your fun wordplay writing to the moon, “yester-night” & “More a-bright”. You’ve added to my moon poem love!

  3. Sally Murphy says:

    Lovely mix of poem and illustration, as always. Like the others I love lollygagging.

  4. Linda Mitchell says:

    Two lovely, lovely poems. Lollipop Tulips….I think you are on to a bigger theme here….what other candies are flowers? I’ll be on the look out today.
    And, ‘Dear Moon’ is really wonderful. Could I please use it with my students? I love how it’s a letter poem with such rich language….”More-a-bright” is fantastic.
    I’ve had a blast writing with you on #poemsofpresence. I definitely feel more connected with daily writing and responding.

  5. Liz Steinglass says:

    These are lovely! I especially like the conversation between moon and viewer.

  6. margaretsmn says:

    Lollipops and Lallygagging are two wonderful la, la words! And as always, I love your illustrations. Dear Moon conversation was me this week. Somehow I missed the super moon.

  7. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, lollygagging is one of my favorite words. You brought back the fun of engaging in pure fun and joy during a day. Being outside in nature’s arms brings back thoughts of summers with my Nonnie. Your poems and illustrations bring joy to my morning. Thank you.

  8. janicescully says:

    I think I will think about the moon differently now. It’s not right to miss such a show! I love both your poems and of course, your stunning art work.

  9. jama says:

    Must join the chorus of folks who love lollipop and lollygag! Such charming words always bring a smile. I love your conversation with the moon, especially when she says, “You’re in my few/I count on you.” That affection feels so reassuring. Delightful watercolors too!!

  10. “yester-moon” & “lollygagging” love.

    you are a lyrical poet & a vibrant visual artist, Michelle.

    appreciations for this may lift – so needed.

  11. kareneastlund4898 says:

    Lovely… both poems and illustrations… thanks.

  12. macrush53 says:

    Lollipop tulips and lollygagging…lovely and Dear Moon, I feel that so much. Love the illustrations.

  13. maryleehahn says:

    I LOVE the conversation with the moon!

  14. Heidi Mordhorst says:

    What a playful, colorful post this week, Michelle! I was surprised to find Lollipop and Moon in separate poems…I may need to put them together, if you don’t mind, in another kind of poem…hope your blue shifts to moon abright this week!

  15. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes says:

    For some reason I feel really guilty about missing the flower moon— maybe because I heard it will be the last super moon for quite some time, maybe because this pandemic has made me feel, generally, like anything I can’t see from my window is too much effort. It’s pretty sad to hear myself say that, but your moon painting and poem does make me feel a bit better, Michelle. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a comment