Poetry Friday–October Moon and a bit more…

Wiry Winney Rides Again, © 2016 Michelle Kogan, pen and ink and watercolor.

My poem today came to me after checking for the moon one night, which I do almost every night. As I didn’t have time for art specific to this poem, I’m sharing an older piece which I think also works… I wrote a poem for this art, perhaps I’ll share it later in the month.

I LOOKED OUT AND…


Moon was in my window,
not front where I dodge
between branches for a peek,
but side yard–Clear, wide, and open,
and waiting just for me…
She sill-shined me–click–like a surprise pic
and unabashedly caught my eye.
She radiate-glowed and gave me
a hug-ably-full private show.
Thank you kindly
October moon,
how I love your
aura-orb warm wrap
all around me,
mwaah
xox

© 2023 Michelle Kogan, draft

And a day later, here’s a new drawing to accompany the poem…

October Moon, © 2023 Michelle Kogan, gold ink on black paper.

Matt Forest Esenwine is hosting this week’s Poetry Friday Roundup at his blog Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme thanks Matt! And…Matt has a brand new book out this week, The Thing to Remember about Stargazing, so be sure to stop by!

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Halloween, Holidays, Home, Nature, Painting, pen sketch, Picture Book, Poem, poetry, Poetry Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Poetry Friday–October Moon and a bit more…

  1. Michelle, you are so multi-talented. Luv all the batty [brooom handle] ghosty [ wide belt] detials of Wiry Winnie Witch!
    And this Moon visit poem is marvelous.

    When you are looking for the Moon, pls. know that I’m looking for it too . . .[And I always wonder how many people around the world are joining in that, especially during the fullest moon times.]

  2. traceykj18 says:

    Michelle, I love your artwork and your poem. What a fun combo! The expressions on the jack-o-lantern and the moon are priceless. I like the intimacy of the relationship between your poem’s narrator and the moon. Happy October!

  3. Pingback: Poetry Friday Roundup: Celebrating a #BookBirthday by taking a look back at its conception – Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

  4. I was inspired by the stars, you’re inspired by the moon! Love this interaction you had, Michelle!

  5. Well, now I can’t wait to see the art, Michelle. Dashing out to greet the moon, like an excited teen lover – so much emotion packed into your words. (And I’m a Aaron Neville fan – so thank you for the video clip).

  6. jama says:

    Such a charming poem (and I love the art)! I like the way you personally addressed the moon at the end, feels so intimate and personal. “Sill-shined . . . radiate-glowed” clever and fun. 🙂

  7. Donna Smith says:

    Oh, love all the words! Simply a hug-ably-full poem!

  8. lindabaie says:

    I love your word work, Michelle, with your huggably art, brilliant, like the moon, which I love, too! And I love “She sill-shined me–click–like a surprise pic” – awesome!

  9. rosecappelli says:

    Moon love at its best – mwaah! Thanks for sharing.

  10. maryleehahn says:

    A hug from Sister Moon! Love it!

  11. Mitchell Linda says:

    Fabulous! Oh, to know the moon like this. Just wonderful!

  12. Linda KulpTrout says:

    I love watching the moon. Great word choices, especially sill-shined!

  13. Denise Krebs says:

    Oh, wee! so much fun here! “aura-orb” “mwaah” “sill-shined me” “hug-ably-full private show” Very nice! The artwork is beautiful too. I also look for the moon each night, and sometimes I find that it was up all day. I’m getting in the habit and looking at the schedule for when it will rise.

  14. Bridget Magee says:

    “aura-orb warm wrap all around me” – I can feel it! 🙂

  15. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, I finally made my way to your delightful blog post. The witch is adorable and must show my grandgirl who loves to create art. The poem is full of beautiful visuals and word choices: Great lines:
    She sill-shined me–click–like a surprise pic
    and unabashedly caught my eye.

    aura-orb warm wrap
    all around me,

Leave a comment