Poetry Friday–Solstice & Playing with The Elfchen Poem

Happy Poetry Friday

I’ve been playing with the Elfchen poem form. The Poetry Sisters selected that poem form as their challenge for this month and will be posting poems next Friday, December 29, 2023. They generously invite us all to join them, so I’ve been experimenting with it. I’ll share a few this week and some more next week, when I will be hosting the Roundup here as we close out the Year!

Elfchen are little poems that are written in 5 lines with a total of eleven words.

1st line– 1 word
2nd line– 2 words
3rd line– 3 words
4th line– 4 words
5th line– 1 word

I learned from Margaret Simon yesterday on her blog post This Photo Wants to be a Poem, that the poem lines each answer a question. I didn’t know about this before yesterday–thanks Margaret, however some of my poems where answering these questions, and some I’m revising. Here are the questions/thoughts for the lines (paraphrased):

1st line: A thought, object, color, smell, or similar

2nd line: What does your word from the first line do?

3rd line: Where or how is the word from line one?

4th line: “What do you mean?”

5th line: “Conclusion: What results from all this? What is the outcome?”

Here are a few of my elfchen poems focusing on the Solstice:

SOLSTICE I

dark 
december dally 
no longer, begin 
lifting hearts, spirits, humanities’   
light!

SOLSTICE II

light  
begins growth   
lengthens each day  
tingles our hearts with  
hope!

solstice  
awaken winter, 
welcome sunlight sustainer  
mood enhancer, enlightener, efflorescent 
energizer

All poems © 2023 Michelle Kogan, drafts  

Jone Rush MacCulloch is hosting this week’s Poetry Friday Roundup at her blog: Jone Rush MAcCulloch, thanks Jone! She’s sharing a mood-evoking solstice poem and pic, and events of her early morning rise, make sure to stop by!           

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Holidays, Home, Nature, pen sketch, Poem, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Poetry Friday–Solstice & Playing with The Elfchen Poem

  1. Denise Krebs says:

    Michelle, what a sweet post. I loved playing with the elfchen with you here. I missed Margaret’s post yesterday, so I appreciated having the questions to answer as I wrote this one about my daughter,, whose birthday is today:

    Katie
    VP of
    sunshine and hope
    sweet solstice-born daughter
    Light

    I will work on more for next week! Thank you. I loved the lines “tingles our hearts with / hope” So hope found its way into my poem too.

  2. Sounds like a fun form to play with–like solving a puzzle. Love how two of your poems go from dark to light and light to hope!

  3. Bridget Magee says:

    Thanks for the ‘tingling’ in my heart with your solstice elfchen poems, Michelle. 🙂

  4. Mitchell Linda says:

    A perfect pairing of your art and words as usual…the illustration lines are so interesting. It makes me wish I had more time to take some classes. I want to make stuff like that! And, I do love your poem…especially with the wisdom gained from Margaret’s blog. Thank you for mystical movement and action.

  5. Joyce Uglow says:

    I wrote an Elfchen for Cynthia Mackey’s Day 16 solstice prompt in her Advent 24 Poems Challenge.

    Sun
    Stands still
    Glorious long shadows
    North Pole is aimed away
    Winter

  6. Patricia Franz says:

    Your elfchens inspire Michelle—and of course the art is such a beautiful complement. They feel like pieces of lace layered together.

  7. Tracey Kiff-Judson says:

    Hmmm, I like this form! I will give it a try. Thank you for the explanation and for your wonderful examples! I like how the questions sort of “direct the conversation.”

  8. rosecappelli says:

    I started experimenting with the Elfchen also after reading Margaret’s post! Now I want to write more. I love these lines especially:
    light  
    begins growth   
    lengthens each day  
    tingles our hearts with  
    hope!
    Thank you, Michelle!

  9. lindabaie says:

    Beautiful, heartfelt post full of solstice celebration, Michelle. I love that last one where you turn the words into adjectives with ‘er’, lovely admiration for the Solstice, then “tingles our hearts” is such a nice thought! Happy Solstice to you! Thanks for the elfchen advice, too!

  10. Karen Edmisten says:

    You’ve made me want to dabble in the Elfchen, Michelle! Inspirational, as always. ❤️

  11. Jone says:

    I am fascinated by this form and observations about solstice. I love your illustration.

  12. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, oh to be able to add art work like yours to a poem is a true gift. Your elfchens offer such sweet messages with words like sunlight sustainer and mood enhancer. Have a wonderful Christmas!

  13. janicescully says:

    I’ve been playing with the elfchen form, too. I love your drawing with your lunar solstice poem. The branches lit up is just right. Looking forward to more next week.

  14. Pingback: Poetry Friday Roundup is Here with Elfchen Poems & More… | Michelle Kogan Illustration, Painting, & Writing

  15. There is sweet irony in the fact the elfchen poems are even briefer than the their rules of engagement, Michelle. That said, they do possess a charm that often arises from an imposed brevity. You have brought delight to the solstice.

Leave a comment