Poetry Friday Roundup is Here with Elfchen Poems & More…

Tufted Coquette and Elfchen, WIP, © 2023 Michelle Kogan, pencil.

Welcome all, I’m happy to host this last Poetry Friday for the last Friday of 2024.
Leave your links with the gracious Mister Linky below.

The Poetry Sisters poem challenge this month was to write Elfchen poems, and many of us have been practicing throughout the month. Thanks to all the Poetry Sisters for this challenge, be sure to stop by their blogs and all the additional poetry blogs that are posting here:  Tanita, Laura, Mary Lee, LizSaraTriciaKelly, and Andi. Find more poems from this prompt tagged with #PoetryPals. 

An Elfchen is a little poem that is written in 5 lines with a total of eleven words. Each line of the poem also answers a question:

1st line– 1 word––A thought, object, color, smell, or similar


2nd line– 2 words––What does your word from the first line do?


3rd line– 3 words––Where or how is the word from line one?


4th line– 4 words–– “What do you mean?”


5th line– 1 word––“Conclusion: What results from all this? What is the outcome?”

I have quite a smorgasbord of elfchen poems that I’ve been working on…
I’ve been reading Ursula K. Le Guin’s No Time to Spare,Thinking About What Matters, and truly enjoying it. She and I shared something in common, this ability to fill up all your time and not have much left over… Well, she covers quite a gamut of ground, even the ordinary become extraordinary when this wonderful wordsmith would write. One chapter is called Papa H, and I wrote an elfchen taken from this…

SENSE OF JUSTICE

Homer 
mentioned by 
ursula k. le guin—   
war and human tragedy  
eternal…

Here’s a poem for my son.

For Erik

lovingly 
son’s arm  
moves crane-like   
capturing our warm bonds  
forevermore

SPIRIT LIFTING

window 
captures blooms 
of winter geranium’s  
over-wintering, joyful, unabashed  
wonders…

poems  
small yet  
mighty, like people,    
pack them with layered  
perception.

And just for fun… cause these poems are also called Elevenie in English.

elevenie 
sevenie plus  
four–sounds heaveny  
let your creative juices  
soar…

All poems ©2023 Michelle Kogan, drafts

View a few more of my Solstice Elfchen poems from last week here.

And a little light music to ring 🎉 in the New Year… Enjoy!

Leave Your Links Here:

About Michelle Kogan Art, Illustration, & Writing

Michelle Kogan is an artist, illustrator, instructor, and writer, creating colorful allegorical figure, flora and fauna paintings and children's illustrations, which have a sensitivity to endangered species, and the environment. She is an art instructor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the Evanston Art Center and offers Plein Air Painting Workshops at nature venues in the Chicago area including the Lincoln Park Conservatory, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, and Lurie Gardens at Millennium Park. Visit her online Etsy Shop at: http://www.MichelleKoganFineArt.etsy.com and her website: http://www.michellekogan.com
This entry was posted in Children's Illustration & Writing, Holidays, Nature, Pencil Drawing, Poem, poetry, Sketchbooks, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Poetry Friday Roundup is Here with Elfchen Poems & More…

  1. janicescully says:

    Loved the corn song! So fun! Your elfchen poems were full of wisdom, about war, family and so much else. I’m so glad you shared your family with us. Happy New Year to you!

  2. Karen Edmisten says:

    Michelle, your Elfchens were lovely, delightful, thoughtful, and thought-filled. 🙂 Thank you for sharing them! And thank you for hosting too. ❤️

  3. cvarsalona says:

    Michelle, you not only lifted my spirits, shared your creativity with us as both a poet and artist, and hosted today’s PF Roundup. Thank you for the beauty that you presented today. you let your creative juices fly into our hearts.

  4. Michelle, a big smile on this special holiday weekend & TY for posting. I melted at your poem on your son & luv the family foto. TY for explaining this form with the charming elf name & for creating your lovely drawing & poem of the tiny feathered jeweled. XO Jan

  5. Pingback: Poetry Sisters Write Elfchen - Education

  6. Denise Krebs says:

    Michelle, thank you for sharing more elfchens. They are so fun and can be deep too. “war and human tragedy / eternal” Wow! And your son’s “crane-like” arm capturing your bond is precious. Thank you for hosting today.

  7. Irene Latham says:

    Michelle, you have an Erik, and I have an Eric. 🙂 Yay for elfchens! Thanks for sharing these and the winter geranium, which I love. Happy new year! xo

  8. maryleehahn says:

    Thanks for hosting us, Michelle, and for catching the elfchen bug with the poetry sisters! I have a BUNCH more written that I didn’t…they’re slightly addictive. 🙂 You said your last one was just for fun, but I think it’s your best! Gave me a giggle!

  9. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Elfchen – A(nother) Year of Reading

  10. tee+d says:

    Michelle, you are hereby crowned the Elfchen Queen. I love how you took this form and ran with it! I love that “crane-like” arm of your son. The Elfchen is such a descriptive form and that’s your jam.

  11. mbhmaine says:

    Michelle, what a great post! I love all of your elfchens, and am especially partial to that hummingbird and the glory of your over-wintering geranium. Thanks so much for hosting today.

  12. lindabaie says:

    I don’t know what happened to my comment last night, Michelle, but glad I checked! I love that you wrote about your son, his ‘crane-like arms’ so loving, & the connection between poems and people! Your elfchens show that they can highlight so many topics! Thanks for hosting!

  13. Liz Garton Scanlon says:

    I just adore how broadly you played with this form, Michelle — and those first two poems landed especially tenderly with me. Happy new year to you — may it be poetic.

  14. heidimordhorst says:

    These elfchens are very more-ish, aren’t they?! They keep popping out like kernels of hot corn! (I had not heard one whisper about SHUCKED and I was briefly soooo confused about why Tiny Desk had a corn song. Thanks for the rabbit hole.) I really like the one about your lovely son, but my favorite is this one:
    poems  
    small yet  
    mighty, like people,    
    pack them with layered  
    perception.
    Fantastic! Thanks for hosting, and happy New Year!

  15. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Word of the Day Elfchen | Reflections on the Teche

  16. Oh, I love these elfchen poems. I especially like those “unabashed / wonders”–beautiful! Thank you for your beautiful art–a lovely surprise in the mail this week. 🙂

  17. margaretsmn says:

    Thanks for hosting. I am writing from the mountains of North Georgia using words of the day in the elfchen form. How fun to play with this form. Yours are so inviting. I love the play with the word elevenie. And the warm love of a son at home. I have all of mine with me and the only word for it is JOY.

  18. Patricia Franz says:

    You had fun with the form, Michelle. We share something in common: sons who hug with crane like arms 😊

  19. What a fun post, Michelle. These are great–I especially love the crane-like movement of your son! And the final elevenie one. Thank you for hosting, and Happy New Year’s!

  20. I’ll have to try this form after reading yours here, Michelle. Thank you for the New Year’s inspiration!

  21. Linda KulpTrout says:

    Michelle, you did a great job with this form. I’ve never heard of an elfchen, but you’ve inspired me to try it. Thank you for sharing the directions for writing one. MAYBE I’ll post it next week. Happy New Year!

  22. Tabatha says:

    Thanks for hosting us, Michelle, and for the elfchens and song! You can’t help but smile when listening to Shucked 🙂

  23. Pingback: Sticky Buns | Nix the comfort zone

  24. Mitchell Linda says:

    Happy New Year, Michelle. I’m wishing you some rest and recharge for a new year of great art. I always love your combination of poetry challenges with drawings, illustration and paintings.

Leave a comment